Black Axe Bank Robber: Suspected bank robber in Lagos police net

Posted January 13, 2015 4:49 pm

Nemesis has caught up with a suspected bank robber in Lagos.

The suspect, Sunday Ajewole, (32), who was allegedly linked with some major bank robberies in the State, was arrested by anti-robbery police detectives from the Lagos Police Command

Daily Independent gathered that Ajewole, a fuel supplier, confessed to have participated in a number of bank robberies and car snatching.

According to police sources, a suspect, who was earlier arrested when drilled by the police, identified the suspect as a member of a three-man robbery gang who were initially arrested following a tip-off at a hotel in Gowon Estate, Egbeda, Lagos.

Three vehicles were recovered from the gang at the hideout.

After the arrest of the three robbers, they confessed that the suspect had gone on two operations with them, and that he was their armourer and was arrested at a hideout in Ishefun, Ayobo area.

The gang has three locally-made guns, but one was recovered by the police. The gun was recovered with one live and one expended cartridge. The gang had allegedly robbed a bank and a Bureau de Change in Ayobo area before they were nabbed.

According to Ajewole, “I worked as a supplier of fuel. I was supplying kerosene and diesel. I am also a landlord in my area. I built my house about 10 years ago. I have been doing the supply work for about 10 years. It was one of my friends, called Omolaja who brought the guns to me. I am also a cultist of Aiye in the area. He said we should use it for land negotiators’ work. I am the third in command in the cult.

“I kept the gun in an uncompleted building beside my house. We are 15 members in the cult group. I joined the cult about four years ago. My wife does not know I am a cultist. I went into the gang because my job was not going on fine. It was one of my friends, Tunde, who brought me to the gang, and I was initiated.

“I had a car, and I sold it about two years ago. It was a Golf car. I used the money I realized from our operations to open shop for my wife. I dropped out of school. I was a student of the College of Technology, Esa Oke, Osun State”.

The post Suspected bank robber in Lagos police net appeared first on Daily Independent, Nigerian Newspaper.

http://www.yohaig.com/newspapers/daily-independent/suspected-bank-robber-in-lagos-police-net/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

