SARS arrests two robbery suspects in Oyo

September 27, 2015, Oluwatoyin Malik

THE Commissioner of Police in Oyo State, Leye Oyebade has said that his command arrested two robbery suspects whose gang had been disturbing residents of Ibadan and other parts of the state by dispossessing them of their hard-earned money and other valuables at gun point.

He gave the names of the suspects as Popoola Damilare (23) and Oyeleke Abass (24).

Speaking during a press briefing on Wednesday, September 23, 2015, the Commissioner of Police in Oyo State, Leye Oyebade, said that nemesis caught up with a member of the robbery gang, Damilare, when he was arrested on September 16 by the operatives of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS), Ibadan in collaboration good-spirited members of the public along Ijokodo-Apete Road.

Oyebade revealed that Damilare’s gang members had invaded the residence of one Alhaja (names withheld) on Tuesday, September 15, and had robbed her of valuables including laptop, gold jewelry, handset and cash totaling about N270,000.

Crime Reports’ investigation revealed that those who went with Damilare for the robbery included one Samson a.k.a. Samora, Tunde a.k.a. Tuna and Bode a.k.a. Agba Yahoo. Though the robbers escaped that night after their victims raised the alarm, some members of the neighbourhood got hold of Damilare but released him when they saw that he was a known face.

He was however rearrested the following morning after those who released him when he was caught went to report what transpired the night before to union leaders at Ijokodo park where the suspect worked as a member of okada arm of the NURTW.

The Oyo police boss stated further that the confession of the suspect led to arrest of the second suspect, Oyeleke Abass, from whom two guns were recovered. Abass was said to have hid the guns, kept in a military camouflage bag, inside the ceiling in his father’s house at ijokodo area of Ibadan.

Restating his command’s readiness to maintain law and order in the state, Oyebade said that efforts were on to arrest other members of the gang who were at large.

Confessing to the crime he was accused of while speaking with Crime Reports, Damilare said: “It is true I went to rob with three other members of my gang. Their names are Samson a.k.a. Samora, Tunde a.k.a. Tuna and Bode a.k.a. Agba Yahoo. I am a member of okada arm of National Union of Road Transport Workers at Ijokodo, Ibadan.

“On Tuesday, September 16, Samson and Tunde came to meet me. They said there was a job for us to do. They stated further that we would go and rob a woman living along Apete road, Ibadan, assuring me  that she would bring money home because she was selling jewelry.

“We went to the woman’s residence at about 8p.m. Her husband had already gone to the mosque to pray and she was the only one at home. Samson, Tunde and Bode went in while I stayed outside to be on the watch. They came out of the woman’s house and handed a bag over to me. As we run down the stairs, since the house was a storey building, the woman started shouting thief! thief!! I dropped the bag and we ran in different directions.

“People pursued us and caught up with me. Those who apprehended me happened to know me so they allowed me to go after expressing surprise that I was the one. The following morning, I was re-arrested at Ijokodo junction where I used to issue tickets to okada riders.

“The police were called to arrest me and during interrogation, the demanded to know where we got the guns we used for the robbery operation and I replied that the gang used to keep the guns with Abass. The police went for Abass and he took them to his house where the guns were recovered.

“This is my second robbery operation. We carried out the first operation at the city centre. We collected laptop and two phones.”

Abass, also opened up thus: “It was my friends who went to rob while I was at work. One of them was arrested while others ran away. I was arrested and guns were recovered from my house but the guns belong to my friends – Samson, Tunde and Bode who are cultists.

“I am also a cultist. I belong to Aye Confraternity and we hold our meetings at The Polytechnic, Ibadan, though I am not a student. I was selling books at Dugbe. I have followed the gang to robbery operation before at Beere area of Ibadan. We collected laptop and handsets and one of us took the items to Sabo where they were sold.”

http://tribuneonlineng.com/sars-arrests-two-robbery-suspects-oyo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

